Board of trustees

The World Agroforestry Centre operates under the authority of a legally constituted Board, charged with overall responsibility for the work of the Centre. The Board has diverse skills in the areas of agroforestry science, business management and accountancy. The Board meets twice a year, in April and November.

The Board of Trustees plays a number of crucial roles:

  • Legal: ensuring the best interests of the Centre and its stakeholders.
  • Functional: participating in policy setting, delegating responsibility to Centre management and evaluating and overseeing performance.
  • Symbolic: assuring stakeholders and securing their goodwill.

Currently the Board has six standing committees: Executive Committee; Programme Committee; Audit and Risk Management Committee; Finance and Resource Mobilisation Committee; Nominations and Governance Committee; and Operations Committee.

The Board of Trustees has delegated implementation of the World Agroforestry Centre Strategy 2013-2022 and day-to-day operations to the Director General and Senior Leadership Team.

Board members

Dr. John K. Lynam

Board Chair & Chair, Executive Committee

Ms. Marie Claire O'Connor

Vice Chair & Chair, Finance and Resource Mobilisation Committee

Dr. Héctor Cisneros

Chair, Programme Committee

Prof. Lisa Sennerby Forsse

Chair, Nominations and Governance Committee

Mr. Alexander Müller

Chair, Operations Committee

Ms. Bushra Naz Malik

Chair, Audit and Risk Management Committee

Mr. Vijai Sharma

Board Member

Ms. Christine Larson - Luhila

Director of Human Resources and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Dr. José Joaquín Campos Arce

Ex-Officio, Chair of CIFOR Board

Dr. Richard L. Lesiyampe

Ex-Officio, Government of Kenya Representative

Prof. Tony Simons

Ex-Officio, ICRAF Director General