South Asia Program Inception

As part of its global mandate, ICRAF established the South Asia Regional Program (SARP) in 2003, with its headquarters in New Delhi, India.

SARP covers Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It focuses on four agroecological environments: (1) the mountainous regions of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, northeast India and Nepal, (2) the Indo-Gangetic Plains of Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Pakistan,(3) humid coastal areas of Bangladesh, India, Maldives and Sri Lanka, and (4) semi-arid lands of India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.More